The 5 Elements of CBT: In-Depth Breakdown

Last Updated: 19th August 2022

All learner motorcyclists and moped riders must satisfactorily complete CBT (Compulsory Basic Training) before riding on the road. Special exemptions are explained in the law section.

The CBT course covers 5 elements (also known as The 5 Elements of CBT) – A, B, C, D and E.

These have to be taken in sequence.

The whole course generally takes from 6 to 8 hours and is usually completed in a day.

Approved Training Bodies (ATBs) run CBT courses. ATBs have:

You can find a CBT school near you in the training schools section of this site. Most DVSA approved training schools can hire or loan both bikes and helmets.

When you’ve successfully completed all 5 elements you’ll be issued with a Certificate of Completion of training (DL196).

A DL196 has a 2 year life. If you don’t pass both your theory and practical tests in that time then you’ll have to take the CBT course again.

After passing your CBT you can ride on the road on a learner legal motorcycle.

You can also apply for the DVSA motorcycle theory test and, if you pass that, go on to take the practical test.

After CBT there are other courses you can go on to prepare for the test.

Read about each element here: A, B, C, D and E.